“Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008’’ (or ‘‘S.A.F.E. Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008”) is a key component of the Housing and Economic Recovery Act of 2008 (HERA). The
SAFE Act requires states to implement SAFE-Compliant MLO licensing that meet certain minimum requirements through the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System & Registry (NMLS).
The SAFE Act is a federal law that has jurisdiction in all states, the District of Columbia, and the U.S. Territories of Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands and Guam [see 12 CFR, Part 1026, Truth in Lending –
Regulation Z § 1026.2(a) (26) State].

According to the SAFE Act:
• Industry: All residential MLOs must be either state licensed or federally registered.
• States: All states are required to have a system of licensing in place for residential MLOs that meets national definitions and minimum standards, including among other things: criminal
history and credit background checks, pre-licensure education, pre-licensure testing, continuing education, net worth, and surety bond or recovery fund.

Objectives of the SAFE Act:
• To provide uniform license applications and requirements for state-licensed loan originators.
• To provide a comprehensive licensing and supervisory database.
• To aggregate and improve the flow of information between regulators.
• To provide increased accountability and tracking of loan originators.
• To streamline the licensing process and reduce regulatory burden.
• To enhance consumer protections and support anti-fraud measures.
• To provide free information about loan originators to consumers.
• To establish a means by which loan originators are required to act in a consumer’s best interest.
• To facilitate responsible behavior in the subprime mortgage marketplace.
• To facilitate the consumer complaint process.
Through Section 5101 of the SAFE Act, the federal government encouraged the states to establish a Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry (NMLS-R). The NMLS-R was created by two entities: The Conference of State Banks Supervisors (CSBS) and The American Association of Residential Mortgage Regulators (AARMR).

안전한 행위(헤라의 타이틀 V)

“2008년 모기지 면허법에 대한 안전하고 공정한 시행”(또는 ‘2008년 S.A.F.E. 모기지 면허법’)은 2008년 주택 및 경제 회복법(HERA)의 핵심 구성요소입니다. NS
SAFE 법에 따라 주에서는 Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System & Registry(NMLS)를 통해 특정 최소 요구 사항을 충족하는 SAFE 준수 MLO 라이선스를 구현해야 합니다.
SAFE 법은 모든 주, 컬럼비아 특별구, 푸에르토리코, 미국령 버진 아일랜드 및 괌의 미국 영토에서 관할권을 갖는 연방법입니다. [12 CFR, Part 1026, Truth in Lending –
규정 Z § 1026.2(a) (26) 주].

SAFE 법에 따르면:
• 산업: 모든 주거용 MLO는 주에서 허가를 받았거나 연방에 등록되어 있어야 합니다.
• 주: 모든 주는 다음을 포함하여 국가 정의 및 최소 표준을 충족하는 주거용 MLO에 대한 면허 시스템을 마련해야 합니다.
이력 및 신용 배경 확인, 사전 면허 교육, 사전 면허 테스트, 평생 교육, 순자산 및 보증 채권 또는 복구 기금.

SAFE 법의 목적:
• 주정부에서 허가한 대출 기관에 대한 균일한 라이선스 신청 및 요구 사항을 제공합니다.
• 포괄적인 라이선스 및 감독 데이터베이스를 제공합니다.
• 규제 기관 간의 정보 흐름을 집계하고 개선합니다.
• 대출 제공자에 대한 더 많은 책임과 추적을 제공합니다.
• 라이선스 프로세스를 간소화하고 규제 부담을 줄입니다.
• 소비자 보호를 강화하고 사기 방지 조치를 지원합니다.
• 대출 기관에 대한 무료 정보를 소비자에게 제공합니다.
• 대출 개시자가 소비자의 최선의 이익을 위해 행동해야 하는 수단을 확립합니다.
• 서브프라임 모기지 시장에서 책임감 있는 행동을 촉진합니다.
• 소비자 불만 처리를 용이하게 합니다.
SAFE 법의 섹션 5101을 통해 연방 정부는 각 주에 Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry(NMLS-R)를 설립하도록 권장했습니다. NMLS-R은 CSBS(Conference of State Banks Supervisors)와 AARMR(American Association of Residential Mortgage Regulators)이라는 두 기관에서 만들었습니다.